Bones

I taste the air of times past
as she walks and I ride
toward the tar covered trail
lined of birch and pine.

A distant hum echoes
softly in the breeze
as I tell her a story
a memory of another time
walking
with Willow on my back
and a leash in both hands
a big dog on each end.

We were headed towards
our woodsy escape
to find freedom for them
and renewal for me.

They say bones hum their songs
while trees whisper your secrets
rivers gather the stories
the rocks are sure to safe keep.

Tears swell as my wheel’s roll
along the man-made ground.
These are not the woods I know
I am not the same woman anymore.

I’ve been away too long.
Let the renewal begin.

River Urke ‘16

care for a reading

One Comment Add yours

  1. slpmartin says:

    There is a sadness in these words with a hint of better days to come with the renewal.

Leave a comment